Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?


1/1/2015 » 6/30/2015
2015 Webinar Series

Webinar - HR Series: Monitoring Employee Work Related & Personal Social Media

Campaigns & Elections

Campaigns & Elections


All Minn. credit union-endorsed candidates win 2014 congressional races

Minnesota credit unions and their endorsed candidates had a successful election day. All four candidates – both Republican and Democrat – endorsed by the Minnesota Credit Union Network’s (MnCUN) Political Involvement Committee were victorious in their 2014 election bids. The winning candidates are:

  • Sen. Al Franken (D)
  • Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-3rd Congressional District)
  • Representative-elect Tom Emmer (R-6th Congressional District)
  • Rep. Rick Nolan (D-8th Congressional District)

“All of these candidates have proven that they are strong credit union supporters, and we were proud to back them in this election,” said MnCUN Vice President -Governmental Affairs, Mara Humphrey. “We are looking forward to continuing to work with them on issues and legislation important to credit unions and their members.”


When the 114th Congress convenes on Jan. 3, 2015, credit unions will be in contact with elected officials about critical industry issues including:


Increasing the member business lending limit

Monitoring developments on the National Credit Union Administration’s risk-based capital proposal

Preserving credit unions’ tax status


“Tuesday was a great day for Minnesota’s credit unions,” said MnCUN President & CEO Mark Cummins. “The candidates we supported are true credit union champions, and we congratulate them on their wins. We will continue to advocate for Minnesota’s local, not-for-profit credit unions when Congress reconvenes.”

MnCUN is the statewide organization that represents the needs and interests of credit unions in Minnesota. The Political Involvement Committee provides input and recommendations on legislative efforts at the state and federal level. The Political Involvement Committee and the federal-level Credit Union Legislative Action Council (CULAC), which is among the most bipartisan of PACs in Washington, D.C., make decisions to endorse candidates based solely on their support of credit union issues – without regard to party affiliation or other political beliefs.


Election Cycles

The information below lists the various state and federal offices, terms, and election cycles.


State or Federal Office


Term & Election Cycle



President of the United States


·         President Barack Obama

Four-year term, elected in 2012

Members of the U.S. Senate


·         Sen. Amy Klobuchar, elected in 2012

·         Sen. Al Franken, elected in 2008

Senators elected on staggered six-year terms (1/3 up for election every two years)

Members of the U.S. House of Representatives

Two-year terms, last elected in 2012

All 134 Members of the Minnesota House

Two-year terms, last elected in 2012

All 67 Members of the Minnesota Senate

Four-year terms, last elected in 2012

Governor of Minnesota


·         Gov. Mark Dayton

Four-year term, elected in 2010

Minnesota’s Constitutional Officers


·         Attorney General Lori Swanson

·         Secretary of State Mark Ritchie

·         State Auditor Rebecca Otto

Four-year terms, elected in 2010