Awards Committee

The Network Awards Committee facilitates statewide and national awards programs and judges entries. On the national level, the committee coordinates Minnesota’s entries for CUNA’s Dora Maxwell and Louise Herring Awards and the Desjardins Award for Financial Education.

On the state level, the committee recognizes individuals and organizations through the Professional and Volunteer of the Year Awards.

Below are brief descriptions of the state and national awards programs offered by the Minnesota Credit Union Network.


  • Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award - recognizes credit unions that promote social responsibility. In particular, the focus of the award is to draw attention to external credit union projects and activities that benefit the community.

  • Louise Herring Award for Philosophy in Action - focuses on the internal programs and services of a credit union. Credit unions who received the award have demonstrated the practical application of the credit union philosophy within the actual operations of the credit union.

  • Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards - recognize the leadership of individual credit unions and chapters on behalf of youth and adult financial education. Activities eligible for consideration include those that raise awareness and marshal resources on behalf of financial literacy.


State Awards

Timeline: The call for nominations for the following awards typically takes place in January with a February deadline. The awards are presented at the MnCUN Annual Meeting in April.

  • Outstanding Professional of the Year Award - This award is given annually to recognize the noble service of one outstanding credit union professional who has selflessly given time, effort and talent to the support and promotion of the credit union ideal and the betterment of credit unions in Minnesota.
  • Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award - This award is given annually recognize the noble service of one outstanding credit union volunteer who best exemplifies the credit union spirit through dedication to, and belief in, the credit union movement.

  • Simon Hellermann Award - This award, given once every three years, recognizes demonstrated excellence in credit union philanthropy and contributions to the credit union movement in Minnesota. This award – established in 1999 as a tribute to Minnesota credit union philanthropist Simon Hellermann – recognizes an outstanding contribution to a humanitarian cause and also promotes credit union philanthropy, service and loyalty. Individuals, credit unions, chapters and affinity groups are eligible to receive this award. 


Committee Members

Randy Willert, Chair
Two Harbors FCU
Nancy Brady
United Educators CU
Linda Jacobson
Fulda Area CU
Lacey Mack
Financial One CU

Theresa Malone
Associated Healthcare CU

Marian Murphy
Hometown FCU

Renee Schuyler
West Financial CU

Nadine Rieland
Central MN CU


* Andrea Molnau
MnCUN Staff


Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034