Dora, Louise, Desjardins

National Credit Union Awards Programs – NOW OPEN

Through various programs, products and services, Minnesota credit unions distinguish themselves as not-for-profit cooperatives dedicated to serving their members and communities. The Minnesota Credit Union Network and CUNA are pleased to sponsor the annual Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring and Desjardins recognition programs for credit unions to tout the differences they've made through their unique programs, services and activities.


Award Submissions and Information

New in 2016: CUNA has changed the entry submission timeline. Entries must be received by July 1, 2016. Credit unions are again able to submit entries through an online form and can also load documents and pictures and share website addresses and social media information.

The award site is now open and ready for submissions. Entries must be submitted online no later than Friday, July 1, 2016.

Complete award information, including FAQs, is on the Minnesota online entry information page. Links to the individual award applications are below. Those who enter will compete with other credit unions in the same asset category. Credit unions may enter one or all of the awards programs.

  • Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award – recognizes credit unions that promote social responsibility. In particular, the focus of the award is to draw attention to external credit union projects and activities that benefit the community.
  • Louise Herring Award for Philosophy-in-Action – focuses on the internal programs and services of a credit union. Credit unions who received the award have demonstrated the practical application of the credit union philosophy within the actual operations of the credit union.
  • Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards – recognizes the leadership of individual credit unions and chapters on behalf of youth and adult financial education. Activities eligible for consideration include those that raise awareness and marshal resources on behalf of financial literacy.

Statewide entries will be judged in July, and winners will advance to the national competition for judging in August. Winning state entries advance to compete nationally, with national results typically available in late November to early December. National award recipients are recognized at the next CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference. 

With questions about the awards programs, contact MnCUN Director of Communications Andrea Molnau by email or at (651) 288-5527.

Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034