News & Press: Minnesota Credit Union Foundation News

Minnesota Family Involvement Council names 2015 scholarship recipients

Monday, April 6, 2015  
Share |


ST. PAUL, Minn. – After poring over nearly 700 applications, the Family Involvement Council (FIC), a committee of the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation (MnCUF), has named its scholarship recipients for 2015. A total of $10,000 in scholarships was awarded to 16 credit union members for the 2015-2016 school year.

The FIC annual scholarship program is the focus of its mission to provide financial awareness to families and to further the education of Minnesota credit union members. Scholarship applicants are asked to submit information on their extra-curricular activities and accomplishments, as well as an essay on an FIC-selected topic. Four $1,000 Harvey Bakke scholarships and twelve $500 scholarships were awarded this year to college students in traditional (high school seniors entering college) and non-traditional categories.

“We had a great response to our scholarship program this year, and I’m always happily surprised at the tremendous response we have to our program,” said Bridget Petersen, FIC Chair. “The quality of applicants we have each year makes it clear that credit union members in Minnesota care about their education and the credit unions they belong to.”

$1,000 Harvey Bakke Winners
Nathaniel Landin              Wings Financial Credit Union
Annie Sun                       Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union
Rebecca Bjorke               TopLine Federal Credit Union
Amy Kempf                     TopLine Federal Credit Union

$500 Winners
Cabrini Winkels               Mill City Credit Union
Jacob Gangelhoff            SouthPoint Federal Credit Union
Nathaniel Anderson         US Federal Credit Union
Abigail Teschendorf         Heartland Credit Union
Adam Ellingson               Mayo Employees Federal Credit Union
Amber Hillesheim            SouthPoint Federal Credit Union
Ellen Kneeskern              City & County Credit Union
Megan Russell                 Electrus Federal Credit Union
Justin Thompson             Richfield Bloomington Credit Union
Adam Ernst                     Hiway Federal Credit Union
Rebekah Nowak               Wings Financial Credit Union
Leland Wright                   TopLine Federal Credit Union

In their essays, applicants answered the following question:

“What is your interpretation of the American Dream and how do you plan to achieve it?”

While reading through the essays, FIC committee members noted the variety of perspectives and broad range of answers offered by the credit union members.

Funds for the FIC’s scholarship program are raised each year during the committee’s silent auction, which is held during the Minnesota Credit Union Network’s Annual Meeting & Convention. Information about the 2016 scholarship program will be available in late August or early September. 


Keenly focused on financial education and professional development initiatives, the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation is dedicated to providing the resources for credit unions and communities to prosper and thrive. The Foundation is a non-profit organization founded in 1969 to serve as a charitable arm of the Minnesota credit union movement. For more information, visit


Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034