News & Press: Credit Union News

Credit Unions Award Summer 2016 Scholarships

Sunday, August 21, 2016  
Posted by: Laura Whittet
Share |

Kristen Fuchs, SPIRE's Princeton branch manager,
presented a $500 SPIRE scholarship to Nathan
Wetrosky at the May 18 Princeton Awards Night.

Credit Union Times (August 21,106) - It's scholarship season once again, and credit unions across the nation recently announced scholarship awards that will help many young adults reach their goal of earning their college degrees.


The charitable giveback program at the $1.4 billion billion Workers Credit Union in Fitchburg, Mass., awarded three $1,000 scholarships to Vandana Anand, Paul Nelson and Jacob Lutter.

The $1.2 billion Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union in Lowell, Mass., awarded $10,000 in college scholarships to new or current college students through its MoneyStrong College Scholarship Program. The scholarship recipients were Jacob Huggins, Kelly Hardy, Katelyn Leboeuf, Elizabeth Bennett, Alyssa Kiernicki, Caitlin Petros, Ryan Leboeuf, Olivia Durkin, Michaela Fawcett, Abigail Cutrumbes, Jayleen Aleman, Erin Dixon, Paige Paquette, Joanne Kanellos, Alyson J. Riley, Stephen Kordash and Allyson Tompkins. The credit union also awarded $4,500 in employee college scholarships. Recipients of the $1,000 scholarships were Emma Gosselin, Justin St. Louisand Hannah McDonald. Recipients of $500 scholarships were Alexandra Coppola, Devon Drohan and Gabriella Molinar.

Michaela McPherson was awarded a $500 scholarship from the $111 million Finger Lakes Federal Credit Union in Geneva, N.Y. Aubrianna Lantrip received the credit union's $750 Laurie Monahan (Memorial) Scholarship. Elisha Corning received the $1,000 Gene McFadden (Memorial) Scholarship and Nicole Wright was the recipient of the $1,000 Rochester Chapter of the New York Credit Union Association – Sam Gaudino Service Scholarship Award.

The $146 million Jersey Shore Federal Credit Union in Northfield, N.J., presented scholarships to Ana Grace Fangayen, who was awarded the $1,000 New Jersey Credit Union League Youth Involvement Board Scholarship; Rodman Bourne, who was awarded the $500 Benson/Hunt Scholarship;Camryn Isaksen, who received a $500 Benson/Hunt Scholarship; Jesse Repko, who received a $500 Surf Club Scholarship and Daisha Carson, who also was awarded a $500 Surf Club Scholarship.


The $844 million SPIRE Credit Union in Falcon Heights, Minn., awarded $500 scholarships to Nathan Wetrosky and Matthew Bauman.

The $628 million LAFCU in Lansing, Mich., awarded 2016 “Write to Educate” $2,500 college scholarships to Jenelle McCoy and Kaycee Ogle. As a part of their scholarship awards, McCoy and Ogle each selected a charity to receive $500 from LAFCU.

The scholarship committee of the $735 million The Great Lakes Credit Union in Bannockburn, Ill., awarded individual $1,000 scholarships to Allison Andrews, Amanda Zurek, Lindsey Grolmes, Kelsey Wahlgren, Joseph Jarrell and Megan Ramirez.


The $1.7 billion ORNL Federal Credit Union in Oak Ridge, Tenn., announced Adaya Kirk and William Morrell received the 2016-2017 B.A. Candler/ORNL FCU Scholarship. They each received a $1,000 college scholarship to pursue their higher education at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

The $311 million Peach State Federal Credit Union in Lawrenceville, Ga., announced the winners of more than $149,000 in scholarships and educational grants, designed to honor the credit union's founders, past and present board members, and employees. Additional scholarships were also awarded to honor the lifetime achievements of several notable school system and community leaders. Nineteen $2,000 Career Advancement Scholarships were awarded to Amy Baker, Lal Ce Mang, Chris Corkery, Kaitlyn Flagg, Benjamin Hanes, Terry Harlin, Lauren Kucera, Crystal Lee, Carissa Martinez, Michael McEvoy, Thomas Miniscalco, Hanh Nguyen, Obu Obu, Kimberley Poole, Alice Samuels, Jeanine Scott, Trinette Sheats, Ashley Taylor and LaTonya Thompson. The $2,500 Legacy Scholarships were awarded to 10 high school seniors: Kayla Aguirre, Elizabeth Delaney, Zack Hanville, Meredith Herman, Madison Ives, Jordan Johnson, Emily Nelson, Tatiana Patino, Kadi Perry and Sarah Pierce. Eight $2,500 school system and community honoree scholarships were awarded to Megan Corradi, Madelyn Schroeder, Nicholas Findley, Timia Turner, Gemma Kummerer, Jarrett Hutchens, Samina Uddin and Elizabeth Delaney. Two $2,500 lifetime achievement scholarships were awarded to Kiara Huff and Destiny Barrett. The $380 million Call Federal Credit Union in Richmond, Va., presented its 2016 $2,500 Alice S. Pearce Scholarship awards to Connor Colassco, Haley Lieberman, Lauren Parker and Austin Thomas.


Anoushka Bose, Hillary Ly and Amy Eppert each received a $2,500 scholarship from the $461 million Point Loma Credit Union in San Diego.

The $595 million University of Hawaii Federal Credit Union in Honolulu selected five students to each receive $2,000 through its inaugural 2016-2017 scholarship program. They wereStarshine Chun, Kanehe Nishimura, Reta Youkhana, Andrew Gerren andDanicia Honda.

The $1.6 billion Vantage West Credit Union in Tuscon, Ariz., awarded a $1,000 scholarship to 10 students. They were Victoria Alonso, Courtney Barger, Kristen Faltz, Morgan Fisher, Steven Fried, Stephanie Martinez, Mickey McCullough-Cruz, Christianna Pinkney, Chloe Wiberg and Haley Williams.

Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034