News & Press: Credit Union News

Leadership Positions Filled at United Educators Credit Union Annual Meeting

Friday, April 28, 2017  
Share |

United Educators Credit Union - APPLE VALLEY, Minn. (April 28, 2017) - Three volunteer leadership positions were filled at United Educators Credit Union’s (UECU) Annual Meeting of the Membership on April 24, 2017.


Elections were held and Jim Smola of Apple Valley was re-elected to the UECU Board of Directors. Smola is a retired teacher and past president of the Dakota County United Educators Union, and was re-appointed Board Secretary/Treasurer. Steve Scarrella of Eagan was also elected to the Board of Directors. Scarrella is a retired vice president of United Educators Credit Union. The Board of Directors sets the policies and direction of United Educators Credit Union.


Dolly Buettner of St. Paul was re-elected to the UECU’s Supervisory Committee. This committee ensures the financial stability and soundness of the credit union through regular auditing of operational and accounting procedures.


All Directors and Supervisory Committee members are volunteer members of the credit union. This unique structure sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions – they are truly run by members for members.


In addition to the election, the meeting included 2016 highlights and fiscal review. President & CEO Paul Dammann discussed the credit union's strong financial position and its longstanding commitment to serving Minnesota’s education community; including recently becoming the only sponsored credit union of Education Minnesota ESI.


United Educators Credit Union was established in 1957, providing a full line of financial services to the Minnesota education community, their families, and those who support education by being a part of the United Educators Foundation. The credit union currently operates branch locations in Apple Valley, Coon Rapids, Minnetonka, and Woodbury.

Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034