The Pulse (03-10-16)



The Pulse

March 10, 2016 ● Volume 5, Issue 10.5


The Pulse Archive

NCUA Chairman Matz stepping down

Yesterday, the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) announced that Board Chairman Debbie Matz (D) will be stepping down from her position at the end of April. Matz has held her position since 2009.

The NCUA has a three-member Board appointed by the President of the United States and confirmed by the Senate. No more than two Board members can be from the same political party, and each member serves a staggered six-year term. Vice Chairman Rick Metsger (D) and Board Member Mark McWatters (R) are currently the second and third members of the NCUA Board.

“During her time as Chairman, Ms. Matz made a conscious effort to meet with and hear from credit unions in Minnesota,” said MnCUN President & CEO Mark Cummins. “We are thankful to Chairman Matz for what she has done to strengthen the credit union movement and wish her the best.”

A copy of Matz’s letter of resignation submitted to President Obama is available on the NCUA website


Spring Collectors P2P scheduled

Join your peers for this value-added forum for peer groups to network, share experiences, and learn from each other. No formal presenter is scheduled, and space has been provided on the registration form for questions or topics that you would like to cover.

The Spring Collectors P2P is scheduled for May 5 from 12:30 – 3:30 at Catholic United Financial Credit Union. Lunch is included. While you are encouraged to attend in person, there is an option to participate via conference call. To register, see the P2P event page.


Credit Unions in the News

Follow the links on the stories below to read more about the outstanding programs, new initiatives and well-deserved recognition received by your peers recently. Got news of your own? Send stories, pitches, press releases and published articles to MnCUN Communications Specialist Laura Whittet



2015 CU Builders

Through the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation’s CU Builder Award, credit unions and organizations make contributions in honor of, or in memory of, individuals who have been instrumental in their success. In 2015, five individuals were recognized as Credit Union Builders:

  • Darryll Palmer, in honorarium by Soo Line Credit Union – Palmer retired from Soo Line Credit Union at the end of 2015 after 42 years with the credit union. He began as a teller with Soo Line Credit Union in 1973, and worked his way up to the position of CFO.

  • Merritt Linzie, in honorarium by Hiway Federal Credit Union – Linzie was a board member at Hiway Federal Credit Union for 40 years, serving with five different President/CEOs during his tenure, holding several board positions and serving on many committees. Linzie organized Hiway’s very first strategic planning session in the mid-1980s at the University of St. Thomas.

  • Jerry Holland, in honorarium by Hiway Federal Credit Union – Holland has been a member of Hiway for more than 35 years. He served for 14 years on the Board of Directors, holding positions of Board Secretary and Vice-Chair, as well as participating in several committees.

  • Joanne Johnson, in honorarium by US Federal Credit Union – Johnson began her career with US Federal Credit Union in 1967 as a receptionist, and worked her way up to SVP/Chief Technology Officer, working for USFCU for 44 years before her retirement. She was instrumental in launching over a hundred services, a pair of charter changes, a half-dozen mergers, and countless system conversions and upgrades.

  • Ray Burnett, in memoriam by Mid-Minnesota Federal Credit Union - Ray Burnett was President/CEO of Mid-Minnesota Federal Credit Union from 1980 until retiring in 2003. He led Mid-Minnesota Federal Credit Union through tremendous growth and held many leadership positions in state and national credit union associations. Burnett was also founder and first Board President of the National Association of Community Credit Unions and was recognized with many awards for outstanding service and social responsibility. Burnett was a leader of the credit union community in Minnesota, serving as Chairman of the Minnesota Credit Union League from 1991 to 1993. He also advocated for credit unions nationally, serving on the Boards of Directors of both CUNA and the National Credit Union Foundation Board. He was an inspiration to many, not only dedicating his time and talent to the credit union movement, but also to his community.

In total, 36 individuals have been honored since 2008 with MnCUF’s Credit Union Builder Award. The names of the recipients and the contributing credit unions are permanently displayed in the Minnesota Credit Union Network’s lobby as a tribute to their accomplishments. The honorees receive a plaque from the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation, and donors are also listed online and in the MnCUF’s annual report.

To learn more about the Credit Union Builder Award and to view a list of those who have been honored with this recognition, visit the MnCUF website.


Hold a Casual Day on April 6 to Raise Funds for Financial Education

The National Credit Union Foundation (the Foundation) is inviting credit union organizations to hold a Financial Fitness Dayfundraiser on April 6 to kick off National Financial Literacy Month and National Credit Union Youth Month™. This initiative will raise funds for the Foundation and the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation support of their financial education initiatives.

Donations made as part of the initiative will be split 50/50 between the National Foundation and the Minnesota Foundation. More information, campaign resources, and a donation form can be found online.  

If this describes you, then you are invited to join The Crew. This group 
If this describes you, then you are invited to join The Crew. This group 

 Joanna Drennen
 Nathan Dormody

Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034