The Pulse 12-14-17

Volume 6, Issue 48.5



Minn. Credit Union Marketing Award Winners to Be Announced at Jan. 4 Luncheon

Join marketers and business development professionals for the Minnesota Credit Union Network Marketing Awards Luncheon at Pinstripes in Edina from 12:30 to 3 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 4. The event will feature a speaker and presentation of the 2017 award winners.


New in 2017, the Minnesota Credit Union Network has introduced a statewide credit union marketing awards program. The awards will recognize outstanding programs in the areas of branding, community impact and outreach, digital advertising, video, and complete campaigns.


Event registration is available online.


The cost to attend this event is $30 and includes lunch. The deadline to register is Thursday, Dec. 28.



See Your Membership@Work

While the Minnesota Credit Union Network works hard to keep credit unions informed about the work of MnCUN and the Credit Union National Association through emails, phone calls, and in person meetings, we also publish the Membership@Work newsletter to give credit unions a snapshot of the activities, efforts and results of the state and national associations. 


A digital version of the Fall/Winter 2017 Membership@Work is available online. Member credit unions will also receive a printed version in the mail.




Follow the links on the stories below to read more about the outstanding programs, new initiatives and well-deserved recognition received by your peers recently. Got news of your own? Send stories, pitches, press releases and published articles to MnCUN Director of Communications Laura Whittet.





Below is a summary of the Minnesota Credit Union Network's December and January educational sessions. Browse the listings below and click the links for more detailed information and online registration.


Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Sessions & In Person Events


Foundation Events

Chapter Meetings


Look for a complete schedule on the Event Calendar section of the Network website.



Four Individuals Honored as Credit Union Builders In 2017 Through the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation

Throughout the course of 2017, four remarkable individuals were recognized as Credit Union Builders by the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation.


A program established by the Foundation in 2008, this prestigious honor is given to credit union professionals and volunteers to allow credit unions and organizations to make contributions in honor of or in memory of a significant individual who has been instrumental in their success. Contributions are typically made at a special time of significance to acknowledge their dedication and impact on the organization.


The 2017 Credit Union Builder honorees include:


Roger R. Nelson - memoriam contribution made by Minnesota Valley Federal Credit Union - In 1955, Nelson began his 37-year financial career and in 1960 joined State Capital Credit Union in St. Paul. In 1970, he opened the first office in Minneapolis for IBM Mid America Federal Credit Union. And in 1984, became president of Minnesota Valley Federal Credit Union based in Mankato. During his credit union career, he served on the Board of Directors of Minnesota League, Minnesota Corporate Credit Union and Credit Union National Association.


Stanley E. Ellison - honorarium made by South Metro Federal Credit Union - Stan has served as a Board Member, Secretary and Treasurer of South Metro Federal Credit Union for over 21 years. Stan contributed to building the credit union from the time it did not have a dedicated office or drive through and was the guiding force in changing the Prior Lake branch street name to Credit Union Drive. He has been a cornerstone in the Credit Union’s planning, and is the longest standing Board member of South Metro.


Mary Ann Kosel - honorarium made by South Metro Federal & Wakota Federal Credit Unions - Mary Ann has over a half century of service to credit unions in Minnesota as a member, volunteer Board member, an employee and as a consultant. She is currently an Operations Support Specialist at South Metro Federal Credit Union. Additionally, she serves as the Board Treasurer at Wakota Federal Credit Union. Mary Ann served as a volunteer at Wakota on both the Board and Supervisory committee since 1991.


James Snyder - honorarium made by City & County Credit Union - Jim Snyder served as Chairman of City & County Credit Union from 1997 until 2016. In 2010 Snyder received the Minnesota Credit Union Network Volunteer of the Year award, which is given each year to recognize the service of an outstanding credit union volunteer who best exemplifies the credit union spirit through dedication to the credit union movement.


In total, 45 individuals have been designated as Credit Union Builders over the past nine years. The names of the recipients and the contributing credit unions are permanently displayed in the Minnesota Credit Union Network’s lobby as a tribute to those who have dedicated time and energy to building the credit union movement.


Donors are also listed in the Foundation's annual report and on the donor page online. The honorees (or their families, in the case of a memoriam contribution) also receive recognition from the Minnesota Credit Union Foundation.


A minimum $1,000 contribution is required for the Credit Union Builder Award. Contributions can be made online. For more information, contact Minnesota Credit Union Foundation Executive Director Andrea Molnau by email or by phone at 651-288-5527.

Minnesota Credit Union Network
555 Wabasha Street N, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55102

(651) 288-5170
(800) 477-1034